Best of the best

North Shore athletes honoured

Jan-Christian Sorensen

jsorensen@nsnews.com

IT was definitely a big, big week for Carson Graham product Sarah Regan.

The Capilano College Lady Blues soccer team striker won her school's athlete of the year award at the annual banquet.

Four days later she learned that she was the B.C. College Athletics Association's female athlete of the year for 2001.

But Wednesday night took the cake — she was honoured with the 2001 North Shore sport award in the open female category, a shared North Shore sport award in the top team category, and the Canadian Colleges Athletics Association's top female athlete award for 2001.

It was a well-attended edition of the annual North Shore Sport Awards Wednesday night, with over 300 people turning out at Park Royal South to honour the best of the local sports community in the past season.

Sure, consider it a cliche if you must, but the old adage rings true: it is indeed an honour — and a true testament of all these athletes' drive, determination and dedication — to even make it into the hotly contested finalists circle for each award.

Congratulations go out not only to all the winners, but to the finalists who achieved so much in the past sports season.

Regan's competition in the open female category was UBC field hockey stalwart Stephanie Hume and national wrestling medallist Emily Richardson. In the open male category, North Van distance runner Peter Cardle won out over SFU football fixture Mike Vilimek, marathoner Brendan Brazier and lacrosse legend Yul Baker.

For youth male, national junior figure skating winner Eric Lyons took home the trophy ahead of distance runner Chris Winter, track and field athlete Marc Noble and mountain biker Ben Sigston.

National wrestling medallist Hilary Leith won the youth female award over tennis notables Natalia Cretu and Stefi Gjine and Handsworth basketball standard Erica McGuinness.

Track and field athlete Betsy Lord claimed the master female athlete award over fellow track and field fixtures Doreen McLeod-Smith and Maureen De St. Croix.

The Capilano College Lady Blues soccer team, meanwhile, grabbed its second straight award for winning its fifth CCAA title in the past seven years. Also up for the award were the B.C. "AAA" football league champion Carson Graham Eagles and the North Shore senior B Indians lacrosse team that won the President's Cup national title.

Rockridge coaching fixture and former Capilano RFC premier division boss Tim Murdy walked off with the coach of the year award ahead of Cap College women's soccer team coach Doug Abercrombie, B.C. Soccer coach of the year Esmael Karimi and Norwesters Track and Field club coach Frank Reynolds.

See Tomahawk page 53